top of page

GROWING UP WITH ANIMALS

I grew up on my dad's small farm. We had chickens, pigs and cows to milk and bulls to kill for meat. I would watch the butcher come to our field and stand in front of the bull with a rifle in his hand, and shoot the bull right between the eyes. As soon as the bull went down, the butcher would go over quickly, slice the bulls throat and then down the belly to let it bleed out. I was right there with a pan ready to have him put the liver in the pan. I would take the fresh liver to my mom and she would cook liver and onions right then and there. You can't get liver any fresher than that. If was delicious!

It didn't bother me that we killed our food, it was part of our life with 10 siblings in my family. My dad worked doing construction and he always spent time to "farm" and grew the best garden. I would go out and weed it and pick whatever was ripe without being told. I loved being outside, so I was always willing to do chores if it was outside.

Recent Posts
bottom of page